The National ICT Association of Malaysia (PIKOM) recently held its much anticipated PIKOM ICT Awards Night 2016 – which saw over 33 winners and merit awards presented to local companies, individuals and students who distinguished themselves with industry-leading innovation and ideas that certainly point to bright prospects for the Malaysian ICT industry.


In a star-studded, gala evening, the Awards night saw accolades distributed for both the PIKOM Industry Leadership Awards (PILA) and the MSC Malaysia’s APICTA 2016 (APICTA) awards. Winners included familiar and new industry names as well as the promising young talents of Malaysia’s future – school and college (kindly see end of this release for the full awards list).


PIKOM also recognised Green Data Center LLP (GDC) who took home the highlight coveted emerged Chairman’s Award at the recent World IT and Services Alliance (WITSA) Excellence Awards in Brazil in early October. GDC has been a significant success story for Malaysia having previously secured the International and local APICTA Awards 2015 for the Best Sustainability and Environment Technol­ogy category as well as the United Nations ICT Award.


Winning aside, GDC’s meteoric rise is further credence to the APICTA platform as providing an excellent launchpad to recognise local ICT companies and provide them with much-needed international exposure. It is hoped that this year’s winners at the national level will also do Malaysia proud at Taipei this December.


Other award winners were SJKC Puay Chai 2 as winner for the Best of Primary Student Project Category for their innovative Durian Fruit Drop Detection System, KDU University College for the Best of Tertiary Student Project for Creative Multimedia Category for their Combat Infiltration Droid (CID) while Asia Pacific University of Technology and Innovation won under the Best of Tertiary Student Project for Software and Hardware Category for their ground-breaking Design Low-Cost Finger Exoskeleton for Rehabilitation of Stroke Patients invention.


The corporate sector also saw many deserving winners. Among these included Bestinet Sdn Bhd for the Best of E-Government & Public Sector for their Foreign Workers Centralized Management System (FWCMS), ManagePay Technologies Sdn Bhd in the Best of Financial Applications category for the MPAY ParcelPay Collection on Deliver (COD) Solutions and Albatrozz Sdn Bhd for the Best of Tourism and Hospitality category for their HOTEL ON! application.


“Being the host of these awards, PIKOM is honoured to witness the rise of new innovation and talent who are examples of Malaysian quality, entrepreneurship, courage and boldness of action. The quality of the entries has been outstanding and we are pleased to see this channel provide a means for local technopreneurs to flourish and establish a presence,” shared PIKOM Chairman, CS Chin.


Chin added that while Malaysia may be facing economic headwinds with many industries feeling the effects, the ICT industry continues to grow – with the healthy pipeline of talent and ideas being a significant factor in its resilience.


“These ideas and others will provide the fuel that and catalyst to power Malaysia’s transformation from being largely a consumer of ICT into an ICT producing nation that offers products, services and solutions for both domestic and international use,” shared Chin.


Equally a highlight of the evening was the presentation of the PILA Awards to selected industry luminaries for their outstanding contributions to the industry. Also, in celebration of its 30th year, PIKOM recognised its pioneering members who have supported the association since its founding days. A special commemorative award was presented to these pioneer members who continue to be with PIKOM today.


Following is the full list of MSC APICTA Awards winners for 2016 as well as PIKOM Industry Leadership Award and PIKOM 30th Anniversary Member Recognition Award recipients:



Award Category Organisation/ Institution Product/ Project
E-Learning ACE EdVenture Studio Sdn. Bhd. ChemCaper Act 1 Petticles in Peril
E-Government & Public Sector Bestinet Sdn. Bhd. Foreign Workers Centralized Management System (FWCMS)
Communication Applications Blue Caller Sdn. Bhd. BlueCaller Interactive Agent Assistant
Industrial Applications Prestige Atlantic Asia Sdn. Bhd. CPS Enterprise
Retail & Supply Chain Management KAT Solutions Sdn. Bhd. KATSys
Financial Applications ManagePay Technologies Sdn. Bhd. MPAY ParcelPay Collection on Deliver (COD) Solutions
Applications and Infrastructure Authentic Venture Sdn. Bhd. OFFICECENTRAL
Tourism and Hospitality Albatrozz Sdn. Bhd. HOTEL ON!
Start-Up Companies Easy Parcel Sdn. Bhd. Platform for Courier Services
Media & Entertainment Technology Digital Durian Sdn. Bhd. Didi & Friends


PIKOM Industry Leadership Award

ICT Organisation Excellence Award. Digi Telecommunications Sdn. Bhd.
Member Excellence Award Adv Fusionex Sdn. Bhd.
Technopreneur Excellence Award Chan Kok Long
CIO Excellence Award Mohd Suhail Amar Suresh Abdullah
ICT Personality of the Year YBhg. Dato’ Seri Dr. Sharifah Zarah Syed Ahmad


PIKOM 30th Anniversary Member Recognition Award recipients:

I-Commerce Sdn Bhd
HP PPS Sales Sdn Bhd
DataPrep Holdings Bhd
IBM Malaysia Sdn Bhd
Theta Edge Bhd
NEC Corporation of Malaysia Sdn Bhd
Mesiniaga Bhd
Toshiba Tec Malaysia Sdn Bhd (formerly known as Tele Dynamics Sdn Bhd)
Strateq System Sdn Bhd
CTC Global Sdn Bhd
Canon Marketing (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd
CMG Holdings Sdn Bhd
Sunway Computer Services Sdn Bhd
Oracle Corporation Malaysia Sdn Bhd
Acer Sales & Services Sdn Bhd
Rototype International (M) Sdn Bhd
ACA Pacific Technology (M) Sdn Bhd
Extol Corporation (M) Sdn Bhd
FCS Computer Systems Sdn Bhd



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here